menu2

  • Blue Flag Presentation at Porthtowan Beach May 2015

    Blue Flag and Seaside Award May 2015

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

Beach Cleaning

beach-rubbish-header

 

Swap your usual workout at the gym and get fit taking part in one of the many beach cleans on Porthtowan’s Beach. Fresh air and great company, it’s a great way to meet amazing people. Beach cleans usually last for around two hours but you can spend as little or as long as you like. Afterwards, relax in the Beach Café, Blue Bar or the Unicorn with a warming hot chocolate, barista prepared coffee, brunch, lunch or incredible cakes.

Do you want to organise a beach clean on Porthtowan’s beach yourself? Contact Neil Hembrow of Keep Britain Tidy. Neil is our local lead for Porthtowan’s Beach and co-ordinates all our beach cleans. If you are a School, University, in the Forces or any other group and you want to combine a Beach Clean with an educational beach overview/event focused on Clean Seas then Neil will be happy to help. Neil can be contacted on 07918 625635 and email neil.hembrow@keepbritaintidy.org. Once organised Neil will advise the relevant authorities as well as the Porthtowan Beach Association (PBA) at enquiries@porthtowanbeach.com. The PBA will then advise everyone on its mailing list so as to ensure your event is well attended.

 


 

Dates for the Winter/Spring/Summer beach cleans

Remember to bring gloves and suitable clothing.

2017

Sunday 29th January 2017 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 28th February 2017 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG


2016

Sunday 10th January 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

We’ll be joined by Rachel from the Marine Conservation Society who will be down to help us complete a litter survey.

Fingers crossed we have some nice weather, looks beautiful out there at the moment!

Sunday 21st February 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 20th February 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 12th April 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG-MSFD Survey

Sunday 22nd May 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 19th June 2016 – CANCELLED. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG- MSFD Survey

Sunday 18th September – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG. Part of the Great British Beach Clean

Sunday 27th November 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 21st February 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 11th December 2016 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG


 

2015

Sunday 22nd February 2015 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 22nd March 2015 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 12th April 2015 – 10 am to 12noon Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 17th May 2015 – 10am to 12noon Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Sunday 14th June 2015 – 10am to 12noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Saturday 25th July. Time TBD. Sponsored by Porthtowan SLSC with Keep Britain Tidy.

Monday 21st September – 12.30 -14.30. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Friday 13th November – from 12.30. Sponsored by Richard Scott and Illogan School as part of SAS’s national Autumn Beach Clean Series.

Sunday 15th November – 10am to 12 noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

Saturday 28th November at Lushington Beach – 11.30 to 13.00. Sponsored by SAS as part of their Autumn beach clean series.

Sunday 13th December – 10am to 12 noon. Sponsored by St Agnes MCG

 

Remember to bring gloves and suitable clothing.

 


The following are the main organisations who regularly have beach clean events:

Keep Britain Tidy

http://www.keepbritaintidy.org/beachcare/537.

www.facebook.com/beachcare

St Agnes Voluntary Marine Conservation Group.

http://st-agnesvmca.org.uk/about-us/.

Porthtowan Clean Up Project

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Porthtowan-Clean-Up-Project

Clean Cornwall.

http://cleancornwall.org/.

Surfers Against sewage.

http://www.sas.org.uk/news/beach-cleans/autumn-beach-clean-series-2/.

Cornwall Sustainable Tourism Project. (COAST)

http://www.coastproject.co.uk/.

2 Minute Beach Clean

http://beachclean.net/

 

 

2 Minute Beach Clean Station

 

 

Save